Valentine’s Day Love Action!

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! I thought today would be a perfect day to start the weekly love actions, because today is supposed to be all about celebrating love! The recipient of this first love action is also very well suited to FCM… This week I reached out to a local flower shop! Flower Child Ministries blessing a store that sells flowers, it just has a really nice symmetry, don’t you think?

I often walk my dog past this lovely business, and I have noticed that during the lead up to holidays, such as Mother’s Day or Valentine’s Day, things get super busy! An extra tent and a whole container/trailer are set up out the back just to hold all the beautiful bouquets. The employees of the flower shop grind through the most crazy hectic day of the season in order to fill tons of other people with joy, so I think they definitely deserve to feel precious and cared for themselves too!

So, I baked some brownies, made a special Valentine, placed some signature flowers in my hair, and took the treats over to the flower shop. The lady I spoke to was so incredibly kind! At first she just seemed really surprised when I told her that I was just there to bless the staff, but then she led me into the store, and declared to everyone that there was an angel amongst them! She got my phone number, and insisted upon making a special bouquet for me to have! She said she just really wanted to do something nice for me in return. Isn’t that just the sweetest thing ever? I am feeling so encouraged by the experience, and so excited that just as I hoped, the acts of kindness are infectious. I don’t say this to imply that I was hoping to get something in return, what I mean is that I know if you want your community to be filled with people who are generous and giving, the best place to start is to be that way yourself. Once you are actually acting out in love, you will be surprised to see that you aren’t alone in wanting to do good to others!

This Valentine’s Day, why not bless the people who work on holidays in order to allow others to have a wonderful day? Maybe you have a date planned at a really great restaurant. Why not bring a flower along just to pass on to your waitress to say thank you for her service? Or maybe you are one of those holiday workers. Why not bring along some candy and encouraging words to help motivate your co-workers? It doesn’t even need to be something big, just going out of your way to think about someone else and show them you care works wonders!

I know that Valentine’s Day can be a time when some people feel depressed, lonely, or rejected if they aren’t in a romantic relationship. Let’s work at changing that by letting even strangers know they are loved through random acts of kindness!. It doesn’t matter if you are married, engaged, dating, or single, everyone is amazingly special and dear to God; who is ALWAYS loving us all! Thank you so much for reading! I hope you all have a fantastic week!

IMG_0331

IMG_0334

IMG_0333

IMG_0335

IMG_0342

Leave a Reply

