The Compliment Week Challenge

So I know there are probably at least a few people out there who feel like even just buying an extra coffee is outside their budget. Trust me, I have been there before. This week’s love action will cost you absolutely nothing though! That is right, $0.00!

I am calling this week’s random act of kindness ‘The Compliment Week Challenge,’ because that is basically what it is. A week where every time you think a compliment in your head, you actually express it. For me, I will THINK nice things about people all the time. But then I will either just not say anything because I get caught up in going about my own day, or I am afraid that person will think I am a weirdo. Which is funny, because I am a bit of a weirdo, and normally don’t have a problem owning up to that.

This week however, anytime I thought of something encouraging or nice to say to someone, I made sure to let them know. Whether that be acknowledging the super friendly, happy demeanor of the guy I always see working at Panda Express, or texting my friends while reflecting upon how cool they are the day after a hang-out, or complimenting my amazing parents, because let’s be honest, there is no end to the appreciation I have for them!

I will admit at first I felt a little awkward expressing some of these compliments. Also, it took some effort to stop what I was doing and reach out to each person. But, it only got easier and easier throughout the week. Now I hope this will become a habit I keep up with regularly! You never know when someone actually really does need that extra encouragement right in that moment…

When we give our lives to Christ, we receive the Holy Spirit, and as a part of that we are able to get a bit of God’s perspective. He absolutely loves and cherishes every person on this earth! When He shows us His devotion and delight for someone we know, we should share that with them, as opposed to just ignoring it.

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”
– Hebrews 10:24-25

“But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.”
– Hebrews 3:13

“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”
– 1 Thessalonians 5:11

Leave a Reply

