Loving On Nepal And Those Dedicated To Serving There

Last September I was blessed with the opportunity to spend sixteen days in Nepal as a part of a three month long mission trip all around the world. I immediately fell in love with this spectacular country. Initially, I was captivated by the breath-taking mountains and the beautiful people who had a culture so unlike anything I had ever experienced before. However, by the end of my time there, I felt deeply connected with everyone I encountered and had learnt a valuable life lesson. One day when my group was visiting one of the temples and praying for those coming to offer sacrifices to lifeless idols, I noticed a group of girls taking pictures together. They were rearranging their saris, ensuring that no bra straps were slipping out, fixing their make-up, and reviewing the pictures, trying different poses, laughing together until they got one just right. Even though the attire and setting was so different from anything I grew-up with, the behavior was so familiar. It was like seeing my friends and myself doing something so normal, just transported into another setting, as if we had been born in Nepal rather than our own country. I truly believe that the longer you spend in any foreign country, while you will learn more about the particular culture and notice many differences, you will also see the many similarities, and grow to understand that we are all simply precious human beings with the ability to connect and the ability to call one another family.

So last week when I heard about the devastating earthquake that struck Nepal, I was completely heartbroken. First I was worried about everyone I met there or knew was in Nepal. I anxiously checked through Facebook to see if they were safe. After the initial shock passed, all I wanted to do was get on a plane and go be able to help the people of this nation during their time of desperate need. But, that isn’t what God has for me right now. I know the calling He has for me, that for right now He is asking me to be where I am, and that He has blessed me with things like a job and family; responsibilities that require me to stay here. I think most us have experienced that sense of helplessness when we see some sort of disaster on the news, so desire there to be restoration, but then end up only wondering, well what can I really even do?

It makes me so sad when I hear people say “well I’m just one person, I’m not going to make a change” or “nothing I do will solve the problem anyways, so what is the point in doing anything?” It may sound cheesy, but if all of us actually believed and tried to help, together all that individual support does add up, and there can be change. Also, God is doing bigger things than we can imagine and much more than we see in the moment. He just calls us to be obedient, not to save the world. We already have a Savior, and the ‘goal’ of any Christian should be to experience a transformation that makes us more and more like Him. Just love others. Even if you reaching out only affects one person, that should still be great news! Think if it was you, or a loved one in need. Wouldn’t you say that one life is precious and worth reaching out for? Every person is precious and worth reaching out for. So, rather than feeling overwhelmed trying to comprehend and tackle a huge issue, just focus on the fact that we definitely do have the ability to make a difference in the life of one other person, and that is AMAZING!

This week I did some research and donated to a few organizations that are providing relief to those affected by the earthquake in Nepal. It wasn’t much mind you, but it was what I could give. I also wrote thank you cards to these organizations. Even though I can’t be in Nepal, they have provided the opportunity for me to give to people who can be there. And I assure you that those reaching out to Nepal not only need financial support, but emotional support too! Just encouraging someone by saying that you appreciate what they are doing can go a long way, and can give them that extra boost they need to serve others with all they got! So don’t question or doubt what you can give, just give what you can. Whether it is money, or kind words, or prayer, or raising awareness on social media, or whatever it is you have to offer (and we definitely do all have something we can offer) don’t ever think it is too little and therefore not worth it. If you do want to send support to Nepal, here is an article that shares some important tips and has a list of all the BBB approved organizations you can donate to: http://www.npr.org/blogs/goatsandsoda/2015/04/28/402842890/what-you-need-to-know-before-donating-to-earthquake-relief-for-nepal
I also personally recommend checking out YWAM: http://www.ywam.org/blog/2015/04/27/nepal-quake-relief/
Thank you so much for reading, and have a super blessed week!

IMG_0402

IMG_0403

Nepal-209

Leave a Reply

