Ministry Update

It has been three months since I left Hong Kong now, and so much has happened since then! I spent a month in California over the holidays, celebrating Christmas and the New Year with my family and friends there. I then spent another two months in New Zealand, also focusing on spending time with my family and friends, and with the additional desire to allow God to finally bring healing over my troubled past that has for too long tainted my time spent in New Zealand. It was a very successful trip and I am so grateful and amazed once again at how much restoration God can bring when we let Him!

During this time of rest I was also blessed with a few awesome ministry opportunities too:

Outreach

Mexico Shoebox Delivery – Every year Grace Point Church asks members of the congregation to put together shoeboxes filled with little goodies to pass out to children in Tijuana, Mexico. I was so excited to be a part of the team that brought down around 300  boxes to the children! As well as delivering gifts, we also made the kids breakfast and lunch, and also had a fun little Christmas service. I was one of the speakers for the service, so I dressed-up like an Angel and shared with the children the importance of Christmas and the story behind all the wonderful figures that feature so prominently in the birth of Jesus. A huge highlight of the day for me was when I mentioned that we should pray to Jesus and give our hearts to Him, and without any sort of prompting, all the children suddenly cried out enthusiastically “Sí!!!” or “Yes!!!” These children all come from lives with absolutely no material wealth, and yet they are still so rich in faith and joy. They are truly inspiring.

IMG_5541IMG_5543IMG_5554IMG_5587 IMG_5559 IMG_5553 IMG_5550

Homeless Ministry – Even when I am only home for a short amount of time, I know that I can jump onboard and be a part of Grace Point Church’s monthly outreach at the Salvation Army. Every month a team of us prepares and serves a hot meal for some of the people who are homeless in San Diego. A message is always shared and we also offer prayer. It is a really good opportunity to serve in San Diego, and as a result of this ministry, as well as an outreach the Church does at God’s Extended Hand too, I have come to know a few of the people we serve personally. It is for this reason that I gathered my family together on the day after Christmas and went down to pass out packages of cookies with a little Bible verse attached around the areas of downtown San Diego where I know a lot of the people who are homeless in this city take shelter. It was just a small gesture, but one that led to some good chats and was received with deep appreciation. I really just wanted to do something to bring a bit of cheer where I know so often there is none. The experience was made even more meaningful to me because it was the first time my Dad had come with my Mum and me to do outreach. Serving and family are two things I love very, very much, so to be able to combine them together for a day made me feel beyond grateful!

011116 20151226_130111

Speaking

Sharing Testimonies of God’s Goodness – During the past three months I have also had a few different opportunities to speak. In the morning and evening for one session of the Women’s Bible Study at Grace Point Church in San Diego, during both morning church services one Sunday at Holy Trinity Church in Auckland, New Zealand, and again at the Holy Trinity Church’s weekly youth group meet-up. Each of these occasions allowed me the opportunity to share my testimony of how I started walking with the Lord, and then also share a few other lessons and testimonies I have from my experiences of doing short term missions work in nine different countries. It is always such a humbling blessing to be able to share how you have seen and experienced God move, and I was so blown away by the love and support I received from every group I spoke to!

12748143_1739376492959083_1465973652581530341_o 12828927_1739376496292416_7064772347218566261_o

What’s Next

Ideas for the Future – There are a few opportunities coming up, some certain and some still in the very early stages of planning, that I am very excited about. The Women’s Bible Study at Grace Point Church has just started a new series called ‘Women of the Bible’ and I will be teaching twice for this series! Once on Abigail and once on the Woman at the Well. A team from Grace Point Church will also be visiting Honduras for a week again this year, and if possible I would love to be a part of that too. I also have a huge heart for the Refugee Crisis in Europe right now and deeply desire to go over and serve however possible for an extended amount of time later this year. I have no definitive plans set in place for this yet, but it is something I am seeking guidance and provision for from God. Then ultimately I want to go back to China again to do a School of Worship with YWAM. I do not have an exact date for that yet either, but it is something that is also on my heart. Whatever the future holds, I trust God and His wonderful plan.

Please pray that I would continue to make the most of every moment,  and not just dwell upon the future. Please pray that regardless of what I am doing, that I would be seeking to know and love God more and more every day. Please also pray that I would be prepared and willing to do whatever and go wherever God does call me to next, whenever that may be.

Glory to God for every amazing opportunity He provides! May He bless each one of you on each of your own journeys too. Thank you so much for continuously reading, praying, and supporting!

“They triumphed over him
    by the blood of the Lamb
    and by the word of their testimony;
they did not love their lives so much
    as to shrink from death.” – Revelation 12:11

One thought on “Ministry Update

Leave a Reply

